X, formerly known as Twitter, is set to make yet another big change to the platform by allowing paid subscribers to hide their liked posts from being public on their account.
The platform recently announced that once the option is enabled, the likes tab will be completely removed from users’ profiles.
The option to hide your likes will appear under a section called ‘profile customisation’ in the settings of the app. Hiding your likes will be an option only paid subscribers will receive and is a feature that X owner, Elon Musk, has hinted at in the past, despite the likes on his profile still being public. Musk has stated that he recommends that users keep their likes public and use the bookmarks feature as an alternative way to store “interesting posts.”
Although you will be able to hide the likes tab from your profile, it won’t prevent people from seeing that you have liked an individual post. For example, if you click on an individual post and view the likes, your name will still appear on that list.
This is one of the many features Musk has introduced since taking over what was then known as Twitter, as a way to entice users to purchase a subscription for the app. He has recently rolled out the first set of creator payments, which provide a monetisation program that provides subscribers with revenue based on the performance of their posts. Although it is unclear as to exactly what these figures are based on, it would suggest that views and likes will have a big say in the amount received for a post.
If you have any questions about the everchanging X, or any social media platform, please get in touch with the team here at Engage Web. We’ll be happy to help.