fbpx
Engage Web logo - horizontal-resized

ENGAGEWEB

Instagram who

Who has the most Instagram followers?

Instagram who

Who has the most Instagram followers?

Instagram is quickly becoming one of the most important social media platforms to both millennials and Gen Z and is one of the fastest growing networks, having hit the 700 million active user mark in April, according to Statista. This leaves it some way behind parent company, Facebook, which is quickly approaching the two billion user milestone.

It recently hit headlines that Cristiano Ronaldo recently became the first sporting icon to hit the 100 million follower mark on the site, just days after his hat-trick gave his club a commanding lead in the UEFA Champions League semi-finals. This number of followers puts the Portuguese star at number seven on the list of most Instagram followers, so we looked at who else was in the top 10.

10. Kendall Jenner – @kendalljenner

The first of three members of the Kardashian/Jenner family to make the list. The 21-year-old American model boasts 80.3m followers.

9. Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson – @therock

Former wrestler-turned-actor Johnson is one of only three men to feature in the top 10 and takes ninth position with a following of 85.9m Instagram users.

8. Justin Bieber – @justinbieber

The controversial Canadian pop star is number eight on the list, having amassed a total of 86.3m followers. He begins the dominance of pop stars in this list.

7. Kylie Jenner – @kyliejenner

The second Kardashian/Jenner to hit the list, Kylie has accrued an army of 93.3m followers on the platform.

6. Kim Kardashian – @kimkardashian

One of the biggest reality stars in recent history and married to RnB star Kanye West, it is no surprise that Kardashian features in the top 10. She has just under 100m followers, with her follower count standing at 99.5m.

5. Cristiano Ronaldo – @cristiano

As well as being the only sporting figure to feature in the top 10 most followed accounts, Ronaldo is also the only European to make the list and has now broken the 100m mark, making him the most followed male on the site.

4. Beyoncé – @beyonce

The superstar is known as Queen Bey to her fandom, but she only makes fourth place in this list. However, she will always be number one to her 101m followers.

3. Taylor Swift – @taylorswift

Narrowly ahead of Beyoncé is Taylor Swift, who has a following of 101m Instagrammers. Swift is a hit both in the world of music and social media.

2. Ariana Grande – @arianagrande

23-year-old Ariana Grande is the second most followed person on Instagram and the American singer has a following of 105m users of the platform.

1. Selena Gomez – @selenagomez

Taking the crown of most followed person on Instagram is another American popstar, Selena Gomez. She has a massive following of 120m Instagrammers and is way ahead of Grande in second place.

If you were wondering, the top Brit is Cara Delevingne with 39.9m followers, putting her just outside the top 30, in 31st place.

Surprisingly, there is an account with nearly twice as many followers than Gomez, who takes the number one spot, and that’s the Instagram account itself. The company’s page (@instagram) has accrued a massive 222m followers – something for those celebrities to aim for.

A number of businesses and organisations are now on the platform too, both to show off what they do on a daily basis and as a form of advertising. With Instagram continually evolving, businesses can now advertise both in the main feed of the site and in the Instagram Stories section. This has seen the network attract more than one million advertisers.

As many celebrities are now on the platform and have millions of followers each, Instagram has recently issued a warning to them about their conduct on the site, telling them any posts used to advertise must contain a clear disclaimer at the beginning of the post.

Alan Littler

Get in touch

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.
Acceptance

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

>

Book a consultation with Engage Web

Sorry to interrupt, but would you like to download our FREE Social Media Calendars?

Social Media Calendar Product Mock Up for web

 You can use them to plan your social media and content in advance, saving you time and getting better results. When you use our social media calendars, you'll always know what's trending and what to post about for your business.

FREE DOWNLOAD